020 7713 0990
10 July 2017

The BSH wishes to congratulate the following individuals for their awards in the Queen’s Birthday Honours:

Knights Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire
Sir David John Weatherall, Regius Professor of Clinical Medicine Emeritus, The Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Oxford. For services to Medicine.
BSH Past President 1980-1981.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire
Professor Brenda Elizabeth Simpson Gibson, Lead Clinician for Haematology and Oncology Service, Glasgow Royal Hospital for Children. For services to Child Healthcare.
BSH Past President 2007-2009.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire
Mrs Catherine Anne Howell, Chief Nurse, Diagnostic and Therapeutic Services, NHS Blood and Transplant. For services to Nursing.

Members of the Order of the British Empire
Dr Kofi Arfu Anie, Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer, Imperial College London. For services to People with Sickle Cell Disease and Thalassaemia.

Medallist of the Order of the British Empire
Noreen Mary, Mrs Lewis, Lead Nurse, Cardiff and Vale University Hospital Board. For services to Haematology Nursing in South Wales.


Due to the volume of awards in this year’s Birthday Honours list there maybe unintentional omissions. Should you know an individual in the field of haematology who also received an award but is not listed above please contact communications@b-s-h.org.uk with the details. Thank you.