020 7713 0990
26 April 2017

BSH Haemostasis and Thrombosis Task Force membership

The Haemostasis and Thrombosis Task Force needs to recruit 1-2 new members with a background in biomedical science. This task force is primarily responsible for guidelines and setting of standards relating to haemostasis and thrombosis. It is composed of:

• Chair
• Secretary
• 4-6 ordinary members (at least 1 paediatric haematologist)
• Representative from UKHCDO
• Representative from NIBSC
• Representative from UK NEQAS Blood Coagulation

The task force meets 3-4 times a year and meetings are usually held at the BSH offices in London. The membership term is three years, renewable once for ordinary members. The term for representatives may be extended at the discretion of the represented organisation. Task force members are required to complete an annual declaration of interests.

Ordinary members are clinicians or scientists with an active interest in haemostasis. New members are recruited to keep the correct balance of scientists and clinicians on the task force.

Role of ordinary members of the task force:
1. Make recommendations for new guidelines suggested from the BSH membership
2. Contribute to the writing of new guidelines and review of existing guidelines

Desirable attributes
• Senior biomedical or clinical scientist with a minimum of 5 years’ post registration experience in laboratory haemostasis in the NHS
• Member of BSH
• Track record of contributing to the writing of guidelines or setting of standards at a local, national or international level
• Evidence of research output in haemostasis or thrombosis

For further information please contact:
Keith Gomez
Secretary, BSH Haemostasis and Thrombosis Task Force