British Society for Haematology. Listening. Learning. Leading British Society for Haematology. Listening. Learning. Leading

At BSH we are keen to recognise those who go above and beyond and excel in their chosen area of haematology and have put together an exciting prizes and awards scheme that seeks to celebrate the success of both members and non-members.

It is important that everyone, from students to senior haematology professionals, can showcase and gain recognition for their work.

To receive notifications when awards are updated or announced, sign up for our Grants & Awards Newsletter on your My BSH page.

The Crucible Prize

The BSH Crucible Prize is an innovative trainee-led initiative with a £1000 prize, where the five top abstracts are selected for oral presentation at our Annual Scientific Meeting. The aim of this session is to encourage reflection on what haematologists do, and why they do it. Those selected are questioned and judged by a panel of senior haematologists on the quality and originality of their content, presentation skills and response to questions. This prize is open to doctors in training, nurses and other healthcare professionals (at any stage of their career).

The title for the 2020 Crucible Prize is 'What lessons can haematology learn from others?'

Please submit an abstract of no more than 300 words to

The deadline for submissions is 5.00pm on Friday 6 December 2019. 

Find out more about the Crucible Prize

Previous Crucible Prize Winners

2019 Theme: How can haematology change the world?

2019 Winner: Dr Jennifer Darlow, 'Antimicrobial resistance: Biting the hand that feeds'.

Watch 2019 winning presentation (Member login required)

Read interview with Dr Jennifer Darlow 

2018 Theme: How do haematologists do most harm to patients?

2018 Winner: Dr Sonia Wolf, ‘Young, Black and Stigmatised’.

Read interview with Dr Sonia Wolf

Student Essay Prize

The BSH Essay Prize is awarded annually to undergraduate medical and BMS students from UK schools in any year of training. 

In 2018 the essay title was 'Patients are accessing their results and records. What are the implications for haematologists?'.

There will be a prize of £500 for the winner and £250 for the runner-up.

Details of the next Essay Prize competition will be announced in January 2020. 

Previous Student Essay Prize Winners

2018 Essay title: 'Patients are accessing their results and records. What are the implications for haematologists?'

The winner was Soumya Ojha from the University of Birmingham and the runner-up Alison Gooda from the Oxford Medical School.

2017 Essay title: 'Discuss the possible roles of artificial intelligence in the future practice of haematology'. 

The winner was Marco Narajos from the University of Oxford and the runner-up Karan Dahele from the UCL Medical School.

2016 Essay title: 'Discuss the impact of obesity on the incidence and management of haematological disorders'.

The winner was Prateek Yadav from UCL Medical School and the runner-up was Maria Fala from the University of Cambridge.

2015 Essay title: 'Haematology and the ageing population – Implications for the practising haematologist'.

The winner was Jess Dunphy and the runner-up was Jemma Proudfoot-Jones, both of the University of Birmingham.

2014 Essay title: 'Does the 21st century haematologist need a microscope?'

The winner was Tom Handley of the University of Oxford and the runner-up was Kiloran Metcalfe, of the Oxford Medical School. 

 You can read all previous prize winning essays here

NIHR-BSH Researcher of the Year Award

The NIHR-BSH Researcher of the Year award is a joint initiative between BSH and National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) to recognise recent contributions to clinical research efforts made by members of the BSH. The award is presented at the BSH Annual Scientific Meeting.

An award of £500 each will be given to three consultants, two trainees, and an AHP or Nurse selected by a joint panel of NIHR and BSH representatives.

Applicants must be active NHS consultants, trainees, nurses, physician associates, pharmacists or Allied Health Professionals and should not hold a substantive academic appointment. They must also be members of the BSH.

2020 Application Form (Word doc) 

Please send completed applications to by 31 January 2020

Previous NIHR – BSH Researcher of the Year Award Winners

2019 Winners

Read: Huw Rowswell - NIHR & BSH Nursing Award Winner

Consultant winners: Dr Tina Biss & Dr Nicola Curry

Trainee winners: Dr Pip Nicholson & Dr Claire Burney

AHP: Huw Rowswell

2018 Winners

Consultant winners: Dr Gill Lowe, Dr Tina Dutt, Sara Ghorashian & Dr Laura Green

Trainee winner: Dr David Tucker

Read about their research here