16 June 2020

BSH was saddened to learn of the death of Professor Dennis Wright on Wednesday, 8 April 2020.

Professor Wright was an established Pathologist in his early career working both in Uganda and in the UK. He later become well known for his position as Foundation Professor of Pathology at the newly opened Medical School of the University of Southampton and for his extensive work in Lymphoma research. 

Professor Wright had significant achievements: He was a founding member and a past President of the British Lymphoma Pathology Group and the European Association of Haematopathologists, and a member of the WHO Clinical Advisory Committee on the Classification of Haematological Malignancies. He has also been awarded Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter prize for his work on Burkitt Lymphoma in 1973. 

Even after retirement, Professor Wright continued to work as the Editor-in-chief of the Journal of Pathology. He  leaves behind a trail of original research papers and several books. His dedication and contribution to the haematology community will always be appreciated. 

We extend our condolences to Professor Wrights' family and friends at this challenging time.